Alberto Orejuela-Memex

My profession would be writing screenplays. My desk would look like a plain black desk The desk has storage at the bottom to hold movies and documents on film. On top would be a screen to be able to project films on to. Also documents could be projected on to this.

To the right of the desk would be a lever and keyboard. The keyboard would be to type out the movie code to pick the movie I would like to watch and then I would pull down the lever to make the movie project on the screen. Watching movies is important to the profession, because it serves as inspiration for your own stories.

The keyboard could also be used to call up books. The books would be on film already and be able to project on the screen, so I would not have to flip through hundreds of pages. Books can also serve as inspiration for your own stories, or give advice on how to actually write the screenplay.

The most important part of the desk would be the typewriter. The typewriter would be an old fashioned typewriter separate from the keyboard on the right. It has a mechanical arm hovering above the page being written, and once the page is done being written, the arm would pick up the page and place it into storage. The arm would proceed to place a fresh page into the typewriter.

The desk’s storage is able to convert pages into microfilm. So once I am done writing I can press a button on the keyboard, pull down the lever, and the pages that I have written would be projected on to the screen. This would make for easy viewing of the material I have done.