Gabi Roque Memex

My ideal Memex would be somewhere I can get in touch with myself artistically and spiritually- but also get things done.

Firstly I would have incense where I push a button and the incense replenishes and lights itself for me. Each different smell would depend on my mood. So, at the push of a different button, the incense cone or stick would be changed by an arm.

Next I would have several books embedded into the desk, like how the computers are in this classroom, where the screen is visible through the glass on top of the desk. I like where I push a button and they flip the pages for me to read, and another button would swap books when I’m feeling bored of the first one. The button would cause the book to push aside in a rotation like manner, like how some cars have a 6 CD system and they rotate at the push of a button. I like abstract theory books about people and the mind. I would also have some sort of scanner into the system to scan in book pages and interesting articles I find elsewhere.

Next I would have lots of paper, ballpoint pens and colored pencils to write down ideas or draw them- whatever I think represents my ideas the best. At the push of a button, an arm would bring me the desired color pencil or paper placed in front of me to begin my creative expertise.

I’m a musician, so I’d have speakers built in, and with a push of a button would play music of my desired mood. I would also have a guitar in the desk where each button I press was a different chord- which includes all the minor and major notes, the diminished and seven chords etc. This would help me write music. I’d order the pens and paper, and then play the guitar with pushes of a button. This would make writing music streamlined and simple for me.

2 thoughts on “Gabi Roque Memex

  1. I like the structure and organization of your memex. The fact that you have music incorporated into your memex is actually pretty dope in itself. This particular Memex seems suitable to mean with the incorporation of all the artistic features. I don’t know exactly how ideal or how much use the cd’s would get but, it’s music so ” Ain’t No Complaints!”

    Like

  2. Gabi,
    Your memex sounds very organized and also super zen. I liked your analogy about the books and the changing CDs in a car, it was a good visual and I can totally picture it. I love writing with ballpoint pens too, so I can relate to that aspect. It seems like a lot of good work would get done with your memex!

    Like

Comments are closed.