Sorry, Not Sorry

Made In China

For some reason, one of the most common reactions I get when I tell someone that I am adopted is “Oh, I’m sorry. I didn’t know.” I’m not sure why. I don’t know if they feel sorry that I don’t fit into the “traditional family” stereotype or if maybe they feel sorry because they think it is something I don’t like to talk about. In a way, I don’t mind because when someone apologizes it generally means that they genuinely care about what I’m saying and my feelings. However, it still leaves me confused and I find it somewhat ironic because nothing about me being adopted makes me feel sorry for myself.

Never once did my parents try to hide from me that I was adopted while growing up. I guess it could have been because I’m obviously Asian and they are obviously not Asian, and they knew I would…

View original post 157 more words

